Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-18-2021, 11:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

45 Gallon Tank Stocking

Hi everyone, haven't had a fishtank in a while and I'm just getting into the brainstorming process again. The dimensions of my tank are 48x12x18H, and the first fish that caught my eye was the Red Lizard Whiptail Plecostomus. I've been trying to do some research on them but I haven't had much luck, I'm curious if you can/should keep multiple of these, or if my tanks footprint is even big enough for one?

Old 01-19-2021, 04:22 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

I read that it's only 4" max and good for your size tank. It can be kept individually or in a small group. Like most pleco, it's pretty peaceful and best of kept in a peaceful community tank. Cool looking fish

Old 01-19-2021, 04:23 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

https://www.seriouslyfish.com/species/rineloricaria-sp/
Old 01-19-2021, 05:17 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist

Thank you! I'll definitely grab a couple of those then. I'm planning to go with a planted tank. This is so far my plan to stock:

12 Ember Tetras
12 Celebes Rainbowfish
2 Red Lizard Whiptails

I was looking around for possibly a few bigger fish, but nothing caught my eye, and I think the schools will be enough with all the plants. Any suggestions though and I'll be happy to hear them.

Let me know your thoughts!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AquStockImage.png
Views:	9
Size:	19.0 KB
ID:	319387  
Old 01-19-2021, 05:32 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict