45 Gallon Tank Stocking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

QueenKiara

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi everyone, haven't had a fishtank in a while and I'm just getting into the brainstorming process again. The dimensions of my tank are 48x12x18H, and the first fish that caught my eye was the Red Lizard Whiptail Plecostomus. I've been trying to do some research on them but I haven't had much luck, I'm curious if you can/should keep multiple of these, or if my tanks footprint is even big enough for one?

I read that it's only 4" max and good for your size tank. It can be kept individually or in a small group. Like most pleco, it's pretty peaceful and best of kept in a peaceful community tank. Cool looking fish

Thank you! I'll definitely grab a couple of those then. I'm planning to go with a planted tank. This is so far my plan to stock:

12 Ember Tetras
12 Celebes Rainbowfish
2 Red Lizard Whiptails

I was looking around for possibly a few bigger fish, but nothing caught my eye, and I think the schools will be enough with all the plants. Any suggestions though and I'll be happy to hear them.

Let me know your thoughts!

Attachments

• AquStockImage.png
    AquStockImage.png
    19 KB · Views: 24
I guess it depends on your biological filtration. A regular gourami (not a dwarf) makes a good center piece fish. Just for comparison sake, a 6" fish requires 4 times more biological filtration than a 4" fish. Not that you were getting a 6" fish, but just showing you how rapidly bigger fish use up your media capabilities