5 gallon/fishless cycle/betta mates

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ElanaJoy

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi all! I'm a newbie, pretty much. Just some small tank betta experience. And failed past attempts at ADF and snails. And lots of research online...but sometimes too late ;)

Here is my disclaimer, I HATE the small little containers people try to pawn off as suitable for a betta, or the stupid 1.75 gallon I currently own being marketed for glofish (!?!?). That said, please don't give me a lecture about no tank less than a 10 gallon should exist. I know a lot of you fall into that camp. I know it's more difficult to keep the water stable, etc. I would LOVE to have the space for a big tank, I just don't. my house is 700 sq ft... We will be moving in a year or so. So please spare my conscious!

Sorry, I just wanted to get that out of the way because all threads eventually go in that direction... Anyways, for my daughter's 9th bday, I bought what is supposed to be a 5 gallon, and I am starting a fishless cycle with a dead frozen shrimp and some good bacteria laden media from my fishstore guy. This will be the upgraded home for "Shiny" our betta girl who is in a 1.75 heated tank at the moment.

Here are my questions:

1) WHY did it take 4 gallons of water to fill (within an inch or 2) the 5 gallon I bought? Is this like an industry standard where everyone knows a 5 gallon is really 4, or did I get ripped off? And when we discuss stocking options for a 5 gallon, is that going to be accurate? this is the tank, yes it has in integrated filter, but I still assumed I could pour 5 gallons of water in there... ???Top Fin® 5 Gallon Glass Aquarium | Aquariums | PetSmart