55 gal cycling question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rotorhead22

Aquarium Advice Freak
55 gal cycling question-Help

I am new to AA and I have been cycling(fishless) my 55 gallon since 2/2. I just took readings this evening and show:

NO3= 5 ppm
NH3/NH4= .25 ppm
N02= 5 ppm
pH= 8.2
Temp= 81 deg F

Question is should I dose the tank with ammonia to get the NH3/NH4 levels back up to at least 3 ppm?

When should the Nitrite level start to drop?

thanks-
rotorhead22

So I dosed ammonia last night by adding about 6 ml which should have driven the NH3/NH4 up to about 3 ppm.

I took readings again this eveining (2/8/12)

NO3= 5 ppm
NH3/NH4= .25 ppm
N02= 5 ppm
pH= 8.2
Temp= 81 deg F

The readings are the same as last night. Where did all the ammonia go???

If it was indeed consumed, does theat mean my nitirites are actually higher than 5 ppm?

I have read in the forum about Nitrite peaking at "2 weeks." I am wondering if I am that stage and by being patient and keep up with the daily ammonia dosing to 3 - 4 ppm, I will start to see my Nitrite levels decrease to nil, ammonia consumed within ?? hours, and Nitrate levels reach ~160 ppm.

Do I have it right?

-rotorhead22 :confused:

Welcome to AA! Try looking through this guide as it should answer most of your questions. http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forum...guide-and-faq-to-fishless-cycling-148283.html

This is an excerpt from the guide that might answer your question:
"In a fully cycled tank, your readings should always be ammonia-0, nitrItes-0 and levels of nitrAtes can vary. If you can add 4ppm of ammonia, and 24 hours later there is no trace of ammonia or nitrItes, your tank is fully cycled with a strong bio-filter. "

It looks like you're on your way so just hang in there!