55g newb

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vance

Aquarium Advice Newbie
hey, everyone i found this forum and ive been a lurker for a few days. Today decided id register and ask for some help. I'm a newb forsure, i have a 20g tank with mollies, and some african dwarf frogs, and its thriving. This is at work (i work at an afterschool care) and i would like to put a 55g into my room at home, im pretty facinated with the whole hobby, id really like to get plants into it as i think they are alot nicer looking then fake stuff and also i understand that they can benefit your fish. Im not looking to do co2 or super hightech so just easy low light plants. Im basically looking for suggestions on how to get the tank up and running and cycled. The 20g that i have was kindof a gong show, we let it run for 2 days and then put goldfish in who eventually got moved to someone elses tank cause we couldnt put the mollies in with them .

also im going to buy a 55g starter kit from petsmart it seems to be the most cost effective way to start, as i dont have to much money to put into it to start off ill be getting this Top Fin® 55 Gallon Starter Kit - Aquarium Kits - Aquariums - PetSmart

so ya any suggestions or tips would be rad, thanks so much.

Welcome to AA!!

First of all, if you are thinking of plants, the Top-Fin kits won't cut it.

I would suggest heading over to the planted forum & look at some stickies, like the links in this one:
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f24/read-this-first-resources-and-references-83826.html
that should give you an idea of what you need.