75 gal. stock advice.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BK Buttikoferi

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have a 75 gallon i finally want to make use of. Im torn between a discus setup and a shark tank. I have no experience with either so......... What do you think.? I have my 55 gal. SA cichlid tank and my 20 gal. Tetra tank both doing well so i want to move up to my 75.

What do you mean by shark tank? There really is only 2 types of shark you could put in a 75 the Red Tailed Shark, or Rainbow Shark you can't do balas or silver sharks. I'm in vote for a discus setup if your up for all the maintenance!

What do you mean by shark tank? There really is only 2 types of shark you could put in a 75 the Red Tailed Shark, or Rainbow Shark you can't do balas or silver sharks. I'm in vote for a discus setup if your up for all the maintenance!

Thats what im thinking about with the discus tank. They are pricey as well. I was thinking red tail sharks, botias and a catfish.

Oh ok that would actually be amazing I might change my vote haha. You could have the shark and one more school or else your bottoms going to be getting crowded. then a big semi aggressive school for your higher water levels. You could do something like

1- Red Tailed Shark
6- Yoyo or Angelica's loaches or 4- pictus cats
8- Rosy Barbs
1- Bristlenose pleco

There's still room for 1 more centerpiece type fish why not a semi aggressive new world cichlid. Look at firemouths they would fit in perfectly with this stock list!

There could be one issue. Sharks tend to become very aggressive towards fish that have a similar body shape to them so you may have some issues with sharks and loaches.

There could be issues but I used to keep a red tailed shark with loaches and there were no issues. But I guess it depends on the temperaments you may as well try of you want to though.