8 gallon tank to get stocked

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lost_ClipZ_ZA

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone, I’m new in the fish community and decided to get an 8 gallon tank to start off and get use to the practice before buying a larger tank.

I love fish but would want to better understand them and the care needed for then before fully investing.

I read in a post that 2 pigmy gouramis and micro rasborras could work, any other advice on stocking my tank?

All replies are much appreciated!

An 8g tank is a tricky one to stock. Too small for a group of schooling fish or a larger single/ pair of fish. It is a little on the small size for a group of small rasboras. You would probably get away with it, but they would be better in a bigger tank. 8g is a good size tank for a pair of pygmy gourami.

A single betta would work, if you wanted to keep it with something else consider a snail. 6 to 8 Guppies will work in 8g with a snail or some shrimp. 8g would make a great shrimp tank.

As an FYI, learning on a small tank with a view to getting a bigger tank once you get experience is the wrong way around. Bigger tanks are much easier to learn with than smaller. Keeping fish is mostly about managing water quality, and the more water you have, any mistakes get diluted out. Its much easier to manage water quality with more water than it is with smaller volumes.

An 8g tank is a tricky one to stock. Too small for a group of schooling fish or a larger single/ pair of fish. It is a little on the small size for a group of small rasboras. You would probably get away with it, but they would be better in a bigger tank. 8g is a good size tank for a pair of pygmy gourami.