Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-15-2011, 05:21 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
BettaKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: A little town called Houston.
Posts: 125
A couple ?'s about a 10 gal.

So I got all the stuff for the 10 gal. today and I was about to start setting it up and I noticed my stand doesn't have anything in the middle:Click image for larger version

Name:	Sunrise 001.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	205.3 KB
ID:	40466
Will the tank collapse in the middle when it's full of water?
Also I got Tetra SafeStart and it says to put the whole bottle in. Is that correct for a 10 gal.? Thx for your help
__________________

__________________
BettaKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 05:27 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
The edges are that need supported. My 75 has been on the same kind of stand for years.
__________________

__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 05:31 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
BettaKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: A little town called Houston.
Posts: 125
Thx! Also how long should I leave my filter on a day? I have the Whisper 10, don't know if that affects how long.
__________________
BettaKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 05:33 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
roundar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 314
24h give or take a couple of minutes.
__________________
Dihydrogen monoxide is an industrial solvent that can be found in your local streams and rivers. Vote to ban dihydrogen monoxide immediately!
roundar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 05:35 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
BettaKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: A little town called Houston.
Posts: 125
I've heard it doesn't have to go on all day. Is that true?
__________________
BettaKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 05:36 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
No filters need to be run all the time.
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 05:37 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 746
Quote:
Originally Posted by roundar
24h give or take a couple of minutes.
Lol

Filters need to be on 24/7 365 days a year.
__________________
I CAME BACK TO CONTINUE TO SEVER THE CORD
Esoteric Backbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 05:53 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
BettaKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: A little town called Houston.
Posts: 125
Oh ok what about the SafeStart ? Do I put all of it in there?
__________________
BettaKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 06:13 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
imtcurveball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: vacaville california
Posts: 297
if you look on the bottom of the tank..youll see that only the side are supported by the frame and the middle doesnt touch the ground.. even if there was a middle to your stand it wouldnt make a dif
__________________
imtcurveball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 06:43 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rosenweiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,689
You don't need to add SafeStart. If you do a fishless cycle, that stuff won't really help you at all. =] And safestart won't make you cycle. Do you know about fishless cycling?
__________________

__________________
-The more I learn about fish, the more I <3 them-
-If I help you or provide good info, please feel free to add to my rep points!-
Rosenweiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
planing 70 gal.fish only with 50 gal sump/seahorse tank miesenjr DIY Projects 0 03-03-2009 09:58 PM
A couple questions on a couple tanks Fishyfanatic Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 25 06-07-2005 03:40 PM
A couple pics of a couple of our anemones(now with rbta). electrikat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 05-05-2005 08:34 PM
Couple of ?s mematrix Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 02-10-2005 04:40 PM
Just a couple more something_fishy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 05-31-2003 09:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.