advice/check wanted for newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sturgcl1

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi there, I was wondering if someone would check my tank and make sure it's ready for the fish as I'm a newbie & dont want to get it wrong at the expense of the poor fish.
it's my babby boys 1st birthday in 5 weeks so we decided to encourage his love for fish and get a tank. I had one as a kid & adored it. I did a lot of research on the net & was lucky enough to get my hands on a rena panoramic 360l tank it came with a 30w light & fluval external filter with spray bar.
below it's the tank spec:
- 360l
- 140w lights with reflectors
- Fluval external filter with 2nd hand large sponges & ceramic rings & new carbon & amonia reducing sachets & new sponge pads (sorry v technical). Spray bar attached but too noisy for sons bedroom so have submerged them just under water.
- substrate of pond soil covered in silica sand & small gravel with coral sand added to increase ph
- 3d background concealing filter intake & heater.
- low spec plants, stem & moss, around 75-100 stems
- rocks, terracotta pots for caves, large mopani & large root, volcano ornament with led & bubbles & bubble pipe running full length at back.
- water conditioned & heated at 25c

I started to cycle the tank using amonia, got the dose wrong & ended up with v high amonia so left the tank for the week until it went back down to 2, then
Dosed smaller amount took it up to 5, then in mid of that week I stupidly added plants, continued dosing amonia that week, then read your not supposed to cycle planted tanks as plants use amonia etc before bacteria. Urgh! So I put an amonia alert in the tank to keep an write on amonia level rather than using king british test strips. Alert showed no amonia, strips showed 5! Urgh! am guessing strips test all amonia, alert tests free amonia only?