Advice on First Aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

llama0788

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all!

I am an aquarium newbie, but have been looking into starting this exciting hobby. I have been doing a lot of research and was just looking for some sound advice. I want to do a planted (moderate to heavy) aquarium with a sort of South American biotope feel to it. I want to make it balanced as well (top, middle, and bottom swimmers). Maybe some black neon tetras(6), neon tetras (6), otos(3), and shrimp/snails? All this in a 20 gallon long aquarium (that is about the biggest size I can get considering space limitations). For the equipment, I was thinking an AquaClear 30 power filter, Eheim Jager 100W heater, and the Nova Extreme T5 light hood (Amazon.com: Nova Extreme T5 X2 for Freshwater 24Inch: Home & Garden). Or would it just be better to surf craigslist for used equipment for my first tank.

Like I said I am a complete newbie, but I have tried to do some research before I put any money/time into this hobby. Any advice would be appreciated SO MUCH.

a great start!! i agree some rams or apistos would work with your stock you could also do amano shrimp. i also suggest aponogeton, anachris, and jungle vals.

llama0788 said:
Are those good fish for a beginner like me?

Yes. After the tank has been setup for a few months and all water levels are stable rams and apistos can be added and they are fairly easy to take care of.

Bought tank off craigslist