Advice Wanted - Setting up a new 120L

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lharrison94

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey everyone!

I'm quite new to the fish world, I've had a small tank with 3 Harlequin Rasboras since January and learnt that they absolutely deserve a much bigger tank with more friends so I've recently upgraded to a 120L and plan on adding more fish in future.

I'm currently doing a fish-in cycle in the new 120L tank with my 3 Harlequins and my levels have remained the same for the past week, the levels are:
pH: 7.4-7.6 (they are in the tricky mid-range on the API test kit)
Ammonia: 0.25ppm
Nitrite: 0.50ppm
Nitrate: 0ppm

My question is this - Do I need to be doing anything extra/anything different? My Ammonia and Nitrite levels are very low but not at 0 yet and I'm seeing absolutely no Nitrate. Do I need to add more fish yet to get a more effective cycle going or is it best to wait it out? I'm planning on adding 3 or 5 more Harlequins to complete their group but I'm not sure if I should do that in the next few days or wait more weeks until the Ammonia and Nitrite is at 0?
I am also wondering what is the best way to lower the pH as it is a tad high at the moment and I'd like it to be down to at least 7 for the fish I plan on adding in the future (Corydoras, Shrimp, Rummy Nose Tetra).

More Info:
My tank is planted and I have been using API Quick Start to add Beneficial Bacteria when doing water changes and of course the Aqua Safe to remove chlorine. I've been doing 50% water changes every day.

Your target should be to keep ammonia + nitrite combined below 0.5ppm. Are your readings before or after the 50% water change you mention? You arent too far off that target so good job there. If you are seeing those readings before your water change, maybe cut back to 25% change and see where you are the following day.