Advise on a small tank for a new member?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jazzybell

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello Everyone!

I'm new to keeping a tank even though I have grown up with them. My mom was quite accomplished at keeping a salt water tank and had a lovely pair of clownish through most of my childhood. I suppose I'm picking up the hobby now in her memory and to make where I'm living feel more like home.

I've done quite a bit of research online and I suppose I'm suffering from information overload. I would love to be able to have a fresh water dwarf puffer, but know that its impratical for such a delicate fish to be my first, also the tank isn't set up for it. (Used gravel instead of sand, and probably doesn't have enough movement) so with that dream on the back burner I wound up with a 10 gallon tank hand-me-down and purchased a new filter for it. The tank has been 'first fish ready' for a few days now and I'm stuck on what fish to get. I don't care for schooling fish, and know that I would really enjoy a cichlid. Maybe a young Oscar? My research online has said that a good rule of thumb is 1inch of fish per gallon and I've read that oscars average 10 inches fully grown... the woman at PETCO was so insistant that it wouldn't fit the tank that she refused to bag one though. Advise anyone? Am I missinformed on their average size?

What I'm really getting at is asking for a suggestion on what single fish is going to be a good match for this tank... I want something with a lot of personality that isn't insainly difficult to care for.

First welcome to the forum!! You will be sure to get all the advice you need here.

Second you can throw everything you read about one inch per gallon out the window.