Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-17-2011, 10:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 165
Algae problems

How do you avoid getting algae in your aquarium? I currently have a 75 gallon and will be moving my fish to a 120 gallon as soon as it finishes cycling.
I have that black hair algae or BBA in my 75 gallon. I had bought a plant at my lfs that had a little bit of black stuff on the end of the leaf - that's how it got into my tank. It's all over everything right now. I periodically take everything out, my husband pressure washes the furniture and I scrub the walls, tubing, cut back the plants where it is growing. It's just awful stuff.
So when I move my fish into the new tank, I do not want to bring any of the algae with them. So I am only moving the fish and nothing else from that tank.
Anyway, once I have my babies moved into the new tank, how do I keep algae out.
I know that these things will encourage algae:
1. Overfeeding the fish.
2. More than 6 hours of light in the tank.
3. So having the tank right at a window is not a good idea.
4. Poor water quality will contribute to algae.

What else?
I've heard that running co2 into the tank will discourage algae, but this is a tricky thing and I really don't want to do it. If you have too much co2, I've read that it can encourage algae. And I just don't want a pressurized co2 tank under my aquarium. Boom
Is there anything else I can do to prevent algae in my aquarium? I'd really appreciate hearing from you all what works for you.

__________________
Ann7667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 11:24 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
roydooms's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,324
Nutrient imbalance and long photo period also causes algae bloom. Check out this link for different types of algae: causes and cure.

http://gwapa.org/wordpress/articles/...nted-aquarium/
__________________
Comprehensive List of Plant Profiles
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...es-153985.html
roydooms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 01:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JimmyA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 554
You don't really need a pressurized tank for co2. Just get an old plastic jug - gallon size - from the grocery, drill a small hole in the cap, stuff the airline cable in about an inch. Use some aquarium sealer around airline to seal. Then put the other end in your tank. As far as the mixture, mix in about 2-4 cups of sugar and 1/2 packet of yeast, shake and put cap on. In about 15 minutes instant co2. Should last about 3 weeks! Oh, forgot to say add warm water to about 3" from top. Leave air space at top of jug for co2 to escape into airtube.
__________________
JimmyA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 01:45 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bruinsbro1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California Coastline
Posts: 5,663
really there is no way of getting rid of algae. It is always going to be there. tanks get different amounts of light and different amounts of nutrients in the water so there will always be algae. you can try to limit the amount of algae in thetank.
__________________
"If you're not making mistakes, then you're not doing anything. I'm positive that a doer makes mistakes."
--John Wooden
bruinsbro1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 02:33 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Oscarr19's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,038
You can try adding in a few SAEs. I've heard they do a great job of removing algae and don't damage plants while doing it.
__________________
Oscarr19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 02:37 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
adadkins1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Morristown, TN
Posts: 1,762
I agree that you could add an algae eater to reduce the algae, but you need to figure out what is causing it in the first place. If you don't fix the initial problem, all an algae eater is going to do is mask the problem. I would say nutrient imbalance and long photo-period are the most common causes for algae.
__________________
><(((º> Aaron ><(((º>
adadkins1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 05:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 165
Roy, thank you so much for that article. That was very helpful. I have looked at the food I'm feeding my fish and there ARE phosphates in them. I'm going to change out their food so that at least the food will not be contributing to the problem.
__________________
Ann7667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article: What You Should Know About Fish Nutrition Fishguy2727 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 02-01-2012 08:41 AM
Algae and Brown powderish Algae problems JMHuestis Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 4 07-16-2011 11:40 AM
Essentially Algae Free Tanks BBradbury Show Off/Photography 3 07-04-2011 04:46 PM
Advice for cleaning out algae lolli Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 06-29-2011 10:03 PM
Algea and substrate problems SH4N Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 23 06-28-2011 09:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.