Ammonia (fishless cycle)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MossyOakMama

Aquarium Advice Activist
I will b starting a fishless cycle tomorrow with ammonia. I will b getting it from ACE hardware. What steps do I need to follow? I will post readings of each day. I will also post readings of aquarium water before ammonia is added. Any comments r help would b greatly appreciated. Until tomorrow. Thanks to everyone.

Jlk. When I put in my aquarium size in inches. It shows it to b 56 gallons?? Mine is a bow front 46 gallon... I know this should not confuse me but I am a newbie. Should I measure the end r the middle??

Ah! You got me on this one! This calculator will only work for a standard aquarium. I know theres a mathematical equation to figure out the exact capacity of a bowfront but I do not know it off the top of my head. If you know its a 46g, use this for figuring out the ammonia dose. :)

Ok. I got the ACE ammonia!! I have taken readings of the plain tap water.
These are tap water readings--
7.6 low ph
8.4 high ph
.25 ppm ammonia
0 ppm nitrites
0 ppm nitrates

Here is the aquarium readings as of today-
7.6 low ph
8.0 high ph
1.0 ppm ammonia
.25 ppm nitrites
0 ppm nitrates

I have added a filter from 10 gal to 46 gallon. I also took a plastic ball looking thingy and put in it. Now I am going to look up ammonia dose.

Ammonia is 10% strength
4ppm - 6.97ml
5ppm- 8.71ml

Needing to find out how high to go?? 4,5,6,7, or 8?? I will b transferring all my fish from 10 gallon to 46 once cycle is complete. I got to many I know in the 10 gallon, that is why I want to know if I need to go up a number r what??

Forgot the pics. :) what should I test everyday?? Everything r just ammonia, trites, and trates?

Attachments

• image-3886474559.jpg
    image-3886474559.jpg
    148.5 KB · Views: 85
  • image-1916601564.jpg
    image-1916601564.jpg