Ammonia in tank before fishless cycle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nanofish

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm a total newb when it comes to fishless cycling. For about a week I've had my aquarium set up with 50 pounds of cleaned Quikrete playsand as well as all of the equipment. I added nothing else. Tonight my first shipment of live plants came and I added them. I was going to start my fishless cycle tonight as well. I tested the ammonia before I did so. It was off the charts of my API master kit. I double checked and same thing. Next I tested water straight from the tap and got a reading of 0.25 ppm. Obviously I need to do a water change to bring the level in the aquarium down but can anyone explain how it got so high?

Hmm...assuming the test is correct, that's definitely interesting and I'll be following to see if anyone has ideas. Any chance the wife / husband / girlfriend / boyfriend / parents / kids wanted to get a head start and added ammonia without mentioning it? Do you have any history of sleepwalking? :)

Haha No history of any of that and the ammonia bottle is still sitting next to the tank unopened. I can run another test on it (I'm doing the PWC tomorrow). I tried looking it up on the net but didn't come up with anything.

After a 50% water change the ammonia is at 4.0 I still have no clue why but I'm going to test again tonight and hope it didn't spike back up.