Ammonia levels spiked, reduce feeding times?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ratlegs

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I noticed a strong stench this morning and I did an ammonia test. It had spiked up to 5ppm. Out of pure fear I did a 50% PWC and gravel vaced my substrate. I guess my question is did I do the right thing, and could I have done something else or better. I'm still really new to all of this...

Sent from my LG-US730 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Forgot to mention that I feed them small amount three time a day once in the morning once more at dinner and once again at lights out for my little clown Pleco.

If your ammonia spiked up to 5ppm then you will be needing to do more water changes. A 50% pwc is only going to take it down to 2.5ppm which is still way higher than safe levels. You should really be shooting for 0.25ppm and do a 50% water change any time it rises above that.

How long has this tank been set up?

Just about 2 weeks

Yeah, with the aquarium being smack in the middle of a cycle you're really going to need to keep a closer eye on your water parameters and do water changes accordingly. What fish do you have in there currently?

6 cories 1 clown pleco and my girlfriends fat goldfish

That wasn't my post, I was just commenting. This is my 10g

Gotcha. Unfortunately, there's quite a few issues goin on that need some attention. The feeding is definitely too heavy IMO, combined with being extremely overstocked and in the middle of a cycle would explain the onslaught of crazy ammonia readings. Another thing to take into consideration is that none of those fish should be in a 10g to begin with. All of them really need at least a 20g and the next bad news is that goldfish are cold water and the others are not.

Now the real predicament sounds as though you have to choose between your fish and your girls.