Beginner 75 gallon

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mlkirby

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I am on day three of cycling my newly established 75 gallon freshwater.

I am running a cascade 1000 filter system and have added the stress+coat on the first day. I have also put in the nutrafin cycle biological aquarium supplement for the last three days. All I have thus far is water and gravel, no plants or fish...yet.

As a newbie, I have checked the levels of my tank at least twice a day. The readings this morning were:

NO3: 5
NO2: 0
Hardness: Very Hard
Chlorine: 0
KH: High
PH: 7.8

Are these safe levels for starter fish or do I need to do something to stabilize before I introduce fish?

Thanks!!!!

Welcome to AA!

I would have to say no. 3 days in not long enough to start and finish you cycle, even if you wanted to add hardy beginner fish. Why aren't you testing for ammonia? <- This is also vital to be testing when it comes to cycling, maintaining, etc.

The thing about adding bacterial additives (Nutrafin cycle) to a newly started tank is that it needs to be added when fish are added (I am not encouraging you to do that though. It will be a lot of work doing water changes and etc just to keep your fish alive through the cycle). When you add the bottled bacteria (Nutrafin cycle) to the tank, it slowly dies off (Within 2-3 days) because the lack of food (Ammonia). So really, your just kinda wasting your money using it.

Enjoy the forum :)

An ammonia reading is critical at this point. If the filter came off a previously established tank, you could be good to go. If it was a new filter, I seriously doubt the tank is ready. Read the fishless cycling link in my signature. It'll save you a lot of time, effort, and stress.

You know, I just now realized the stuff I have doesn't test for ammonia! Grrrr