Beginner and new tank setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

speckles69uk

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the hobby and just wondered if I could get a little input from you all.

I recently purchased a second hand juwell tank measuring 60cm x 30cm x 40cm, which also included a heater, aerator some ornaments and used filter. The previous owner said that they had it running quite recently and have just upgraded to a larger tank. I've washed the tank and all ornaments with hot water and added some water to the filter, trying not to rinse, hoping that I could preserve some of the bacteria. After setting up the tank and washing and adding gravel I added the required amount of API tap water conditioner. I also added ammonia to the tank using an online calculator so that the amount should have been 3.0ppm. I also purchased a bottle of nutrafin cycle out of curiosity and the hope of giving a boost to the cycle. I added the suggested amount written on the bottle.

After 24 hours I took my first readings using the API freshwater master test kit. The results were as follows:

pH 7.6
High range ph 7.4
Ammonia 3.0ppm
Nitrite 0ppm
Nitrate (Color was slightly orange, not yellow - between 0ppm and 5.0ppm)

I did not add any ammonia, but did add the suggested amount of nutrafin cycle.

The next day (today), I took readings again and they were as follows:

pH 7.6
Ammonia 3.0ppm
Nitrite 0ppm
Nitrate 5.0ppm

I did not add any ammonia, but did add the suggested amount of nutrafin cycle for day 3.