Beginner Help!?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

xlarronlx

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi, i'm new to aquariums. I purchased my first aquarium today which is a 6ft column tank 18" wide. Im looking to set this up as a freshwater tank as i have heard this is most suitable for beginners.

My question is basically... where do i go from here such as, type of fish/equipment/cleaning.

I would like someone to be able to tell me the pros/cons of this type of tank and ways i can make this tank easy for me to manage.

The more advice i receive the better really.

Thanks, Arron (new member)

One thing I can immediately see is a surface area problem. Water surface area is important for carbon dioxide to oxygen exchange. Usually that is more difficult in a tall narrow tank.

I know they are difficulties with these types of tanks and would love for someone to write me a guide on how to make this tank work correctly without devastating problems. Does anyone know a guide that is already been posted?

I am purchasing this item at 6PM (GMT) and dont want to buy it to regret it... SOMEONE PLEASE HELP? :)

Heres a great guide to starting a fw tank! It covers all the basics and more. Unfortunately, I do not experience with this particular type of tank but hopefully others that do will chime in! make sure you spend lots of time researching the stock you are considering as certain species of fish are more suited to this type of tank design than others (deep vs long).

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f15/guide-to-starting-a-freshwater-aquarium-186089.html

I know they are difficulties with these types of tanks and would love for someone to write me a guide on how to make this tank work correctly without devastating problems. Does anyone know a guide that is already been posted?