beginner here!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

debomb4u

Aquarium Advice Activist
hi i just recently bought a tank kit. it came with a whisper power filter 5- 15 a 10 gallon tank with hood and lights. i bought some rocks and plastic plants and a hideout. i know the filter has 2 stages the mechanical and chemical but i'm not sure about the biological. i'm considering getting a red tail shark or 2, 2 mollys, and either some neon tetras or a swordtail. later i will buy a few snails. i'm wondering if those kinds of fish need the salt or can tolerate the brackish water? if i need a under gravel filter or not? one of my friends gave me his compact 100 watt heater. i tried using it and i know it works but it seems like it gets too hott maybe i need to adjust it but the dial on top. i think its hard to set the temp. do i need a test kit if so what would be the best with my kind of set up? do livebearers like water thats above room temp? do i need meds just incase if so what kind? is there any other kind of tips or tricks you can give me? sorry about all the questions but i dont know really anything about raising fish. the reason i'm asking so many questions also is because i'm moving to where there isnt a pet store withing 100 miles in a few days and i need to know what to get before i'm out of luck or have to buy online. and yes i will set up my tank after i have moved
thank you,
brian ross

or if you have any other recommendations like fish and what not. i found out my filter is only the 2 stage, is it bad not to have the third stage biological?

Welcome to AA!