Beginner Tank Set Up. Help Appreciated!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dan1981

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone! I am a beginner who recently won a 10 gallon aquarium set up and would like to dive into caring for fish! I have done quite a bit of research and learned quite a bit on the way. I am still somewhat confused in certain areas. I will list everything that I will be getting to get started and then try to explain what I am thinking to do to get started. Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated!

ITEMS:

10 gallon fish tank with LED hood, quiet flow filter, preset heater, thermometer.
(above was all free)

What I will be purchasing:

Fish Food
Gravel Siphon with bucket
Seachem Prime
Seachem Stability
Easy test strips
Ammonia test strips
Artificial plants
Air pump with stone
15 lbs of gravel
5 Male Guppies

This is all I can think of to purchase. (if I am missing anything please let me know)!

I am wanting to do a fishless cycle to get the tank ready for the fish.

Here are the steps I am thinking about doing. Please advise as much as you guys/gals can please!

1. Get tank set up with gravel, plants, pump ect.

2. Fill tank with tap water (ph levels will be checked and fixed in the range of
6.5 - 8). Then directly add the directed amount of PRIME to the water to
remove the chlorine from the water. (the filter, heater and
everything else will be on). Wait 2 days?

3. Add directed amount of STABILITY to tank water and wait 2-3 weeks while
checking the ammonia, nitrate and nitrite levels. I was told to not add any
fish until there is 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite and some nitrate (0-40ppm). Is this
correct?

4. Once levels are safe I will add all 5 fish into aquarium. Then preform 25%
water changes every 2 weeks. While preforming water changes, I will be
using tap water in a bucket and then adding in PRIME, mix and then add