best filter??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

molly luver

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
can ny 1 recomend a filter for my Hagen Fluval Duo 1000 aquarium i want really clean clear water im going to be stockin guppies mollies and plattys in it

I would recommend the Aqua Clear 110 myself. Easy to use, quiet and had great media basket for beneficial bacteria.

I do for a 47gal tank with guppies mollies and plattys. I recomend canister for larger tanks, and wet/drys for even larger tanks.

Let me elaborate on my suggestion, for a 47 gal with that stocking a HOB is good. Easy to clean, easy to manage. There is nothing wrong with cannisters at all. I use them on all my tanks over 50 gals, some with 2 cannisters and some with HOB's and a cannister. My cannisters are all fluvals, so I have no experience with the ecco's. I certainly prefer the ease of cannister with the stocking I have in most of my tanks. I also tend to overfilter my tanks. :)

neilanh said:
So for my 46 I shouldn't get the Ecco 2236 to go with my Emp 280?