Best substrate for zebra danios?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fish.Noob

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey guys,

Complete noob here. I just bought a new 16 gallon tank for my dad's birthday and he wants to put some zebra danios in it.

So we setup the stand, wiped the insides and outsides of the tank with a brand new, damp cloth and now we are looking at putting some substrate in it.

The guy at the pet store sold me some fluval stratum, but my dad said he doesn't want to use it because it is a soil. He said he much rather use gravel. So I googled "best substrate for zebra danios" and one article said sand, while another said gravel.

Thoughts?

I don't think the substrate makes much difference for zebra danios. If you want plants, or if you have bottom dwelling fish, substrate is an important consideration. Otherwise, just pick what looks good.

Any substrate if Zebras ONLY!
(if low tech tank and without plants: choose the easier to clean or your best interests, literally anything)

Want to add more fish? Different fish? Invertebrates?
Take in consideration if parameters are the same for keeping both species together, you have 2 choices: small gravel or syntetic sand

- clean it good before adding into the tank(any substrate)

Plants?
You need a CO2 system and a good light source to maintain a hightech planted fish tank before thinking about subtrate. However if you dont want to go big, pick seachem substrate, they are the right size - not too big, not small - and can go with some low tech aquarium plants (maybe some snails)

Edit: zebras have good colors to go with a black colored substrate with a drift wood in the middle or 2 big rocks (drift wood will low ph and brush the rocks) but both have to go inside a bucket with water for 2 days (with water changes) before adding to the tank, cause they release chemicals