Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-16-2011, 10:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 332
Best way to insta-cycle a new tank?

I'm finally getting a bigger tank and I'm not sure how to use the seeded materials from my old tank to instacycle my new tank.
Do I just use the same gravel (or put some in a stocking, I haven't decided on substrate yet) and use the filter media along with the new media for the tank?
Any help would be great.
__________________

__________________
Sssea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 10:08 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jcolon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 3,470
Send a message via AIM to jcolon Send a message via Skype™ to jcolon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sssea View Post
I'm finally getting a bigger tank and I'm not sure how to use the seeded materials from my old tank to instacycle my new tank.
Do I just use the same gravel (or put some in a stocking, I haven't decided on substrate yet) and use the filter media along with the new media for the tank?
Any help would be great.
Although I haven't done it ... basically the answer is yes ..... Substrate from your old tank would be a good seeding material. If you can use some of the filter media from your established filter, stuff it with the new filter and that will quickly help.

This is how I intend on eventually seeding a 120 gal I'm considering down the road.
__________________

__________________
75g Planted Barbs Denison, BlackRuby, Tiger, Albino Tiger, Green Tiger, Cherry, Gold, Checkered, Odessa.
NonBarbs Cardinal, Neon, RummyNose, Bloodfin Tetras, Z. Danios. 1RTS. Amano, Bamboo, Ghost & RCS. 20g Long Shrimp Tank RCS, Tiger, Amano.
jcolon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 10:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 332
Awesome. If I need more gravel, will mixing it in with the seed material affect the bacteria?
__________________
Sssea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 10:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jcolon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 3,470
Send a message via AIM to jcolon Send a message via Skype™ to jcolon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sssea View Post
Awesome. If I need more gravel, will mixing it in with the seed material affect the bacteria?
Not as far as I've read from previous threads ... so long as the new tank has ammo for food the bacteria will grow. And naturally if you put new gravel in the old one to make up for what you removed .. well bacteria will just grow on those as well. Just don't take so much gravel ...like 50% lol ... as it could lead to a mini-cycle. I'm sure a couple of handful's should get it started.
__________________
75g Planted Barbs Denison, BlackRuby, Tiger, Albino Tiger, Green Tiger, Cherry, Gold, Checkered, Odessa.
NonBarbs Cardinal, Neon, RummyNose, Bloodfin Tetras, Z. Danios. 1RTS. Amano, Bamboo, Ghost & RCS. 20g Long Shrimp Tank RCS, Tiger, Amano.
jcolon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 10:27 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Gravel from an established tank will help...but since the thread is about "insta-cycling", the answer is no it will not do that. Jcolon is right that filter media is the best seeding material since it contains the vast majority of your beneficial bacteria.

What size tanks do you currently have and are setting up?
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 10:47 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by eco23
Gravel from an established tank will help...but since the thread is about "insta-cycling", the answer is no it will not do that. Jcolon is right that filter media is the best seeding material since it contains the vast majority of your beneficial bacteria.

What size tanks do you currently have and are setting up?
Going from a 10 to a 29. What's the best way to go about transferring my little guys?
__________________
Sssea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 11:12 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sssea

Going from a 10 to a 29. What's the best way to go about transferring my little guys?
Are you moving every fish from the 10 to the 29 ? Is the 10 gallon going to remain up and running or are you going to store it away to use as a QT? Will there be a new filter on the 29?

If you're simply upgrading, you can pretty much take the entire filter, gravel, etc... throw it on the new and hopefully be good to go since that filter will have the beneficial bacteria needed to support your fish. Even if the new tank has it's own filter you can run the both of them together (there's no such thing as over-filtration). If the 10 gallon is going to be stored away to be used as a quarantine, if you ever need it you can pull one of the old filters off and have a quarantine tank set up in about 10 minutes
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 11:34 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 332
Thanks for the great advice, Eco.

I'm moving all the fish from the 10 to the 29, since there are only 3. I'm probably going to sell the 10, so I can actually afford the 29. It's tough being a poor college student :P

So if I move all the gravel and add more (I'm assuming I need more, since the tank is bigger?) and place the filter pad from the existing tank behind the filter pad of the new one, can I add my fish immediately?
__________________
Sssea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 11:48 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sssea View Post
Thanks for the great advice, Eco.

I'm moving all the fish from the 10 to the 29, since there are only 3. I'm probably going to sell the 10, so I can actually afford the 29. It's tough being a poor college student :P

So if I move all the gravel and add more (I'm assuming I need more, since the tank is bigger?) and place the filter pad from the existing tank behind the filter pad of the new one, can I add my fish immediately?
If you can move absolutely every inch of media from your old to your new...you may be okay. I would still treat it as a fish in cycle until it proves stable. Make sure you have a good quality test kit like an API Master kit.
Here's a great link you can use if you see any ammonia or nitrIte spikes.
I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?!

TBH, you're really not going to get much money for a 10 gallon tank, so it would be a fantastic idea to throw it in the closet as a hospital tank. If you ever see a sick fish you can instantly set up the QT to isolate and treat them before they infect the entire tank. It's also a great idea to quarantine any new fish you have and make sure they are healthy before adding them to your DT (display tank). You might make $20 selling the 10 gallon, but the cost of replacing all of your fish if they die from a parasite like ich which you could have prevented with a QT is going to be much more cost efficient.

Just my opinion, but definitely the smart way to go. Since you're a college student...I'm sure you guys can find some creative way to drink beer out of it or something while it's not being used, haha. Just make sure it's rinsed well before adding fish
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 12:01 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 332
I'm definitely going to keep the 10 if I have a hard time selling. I may end up converting it to a planted tank for dwarf puffers since I'm absolutely not getting any more fish for the 29.

My main concern would be having a qt/ht is not having space in the super tiny apartment I will be moving in to shortly.

I'm having weird daydreams about filters pouring waterfalls of beer into my mouth now :P
__________________
Sssea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 10:27 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 332
Just one more question.
I picked up the tank today (off craigslist) and the guy gave me his old filter media. Should I buy new ones to use in conjunction with my established media? He said they still contain beneficial bacteria, but I would assume it dies off without a source of ammonia to feed it.
__________________
Sssea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 10:33 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sssea
Just one more question.
I picked up the tank today (off craigslist) and the guy gave me his old filter media. Should I buy new ones to use in conjunction with my established media? He said they still contain beneficial bacteria, but I would assume it dies off without a source of ammonia to feed it.
First, is it still wet? If no...bacteria is dead. Second, do you know how long ago he had fish? I'm not sure of an exact answer, but IMO, after a week of no ammonia the bacteria will experience a significant die off. Third, did he say why he was getting rid of the tank? If there was some type of disease / parasite that killed off his fish...you want to stay clear and sanitize everything super well.
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 10:38 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 332
It's bone dry and looks pretty old, so I was planning on getting new ones anyway. I didn't even think to ask why he was selling it or if anything happened to his fish.
__________________

__________________
Sssea is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Tank Instantly at CYCLE level equal to other tank SKEET Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 07-09-2006 09:12 PM
Cycle-- How do YOU Cycle your tank? DragonFish Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 01-01-2006 11:02 PM
New tank: jump start cycle with bio wheel in existing tank? twestrope Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 11-02-2005 03:54 PM
To cycle or not to cycle.... (2-gallon tank) fearlessfisch Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-17-2004 12:34 PM
Will my snails & spider crabs still feed with a UV insta blaster Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-29-2003 12:31 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.