Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-12-2015, 09:43 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
trkchezz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 328
Bio load

I have a tank that hasn't been set up yet. 30 gallon hex with an AC70 filter ready to go. I know about the cycle, my question is what kind of media should I be using? I would like to buy in bulk to save on overall costs and use bio bags. I want to do what works the best but won't cost me an arm and a leg.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
trkchezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 09:57 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
With an aqua clear you won't have to replace anything for a long time. Just rinse in tank water and your good to go.

Sent from my SM-G386T using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 10:00 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikem691 View Post
With an aqua clear you won't have to replace anything for a long time. Just rinse in tank water and your good to go.

Sent from my SM-G386T using Aquarium Advice mobile app

+1 never replaced anything in my Aquaclear filters in almost a year. Even Purigen is rechargeable.


Caleb
__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 10:02 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
trkchezz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 328
What about carbon? Or filter floss?

What else should I be putting in there?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
trkchezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 10:07 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ImACoolguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 7,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by trkchezz View Post
What about carbon? Or filter floss?

What else should I be putting in there?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I haven't used filter floss I'm my aquaclears, though I probably should thank you for that, you can buy that stuff in bulk and cut it to fit your filter.

Carbon isn't necessary, it removes medications as its primary purpose.


Caleb
__________________
ImACoolguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 10:21 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
I run the stock sponge and instead of the carbon I use a second bag of the bio media

Sent from my SM-G386T using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 10:26 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
trkchezz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 328
What kind of bio media do you use? Brand


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
trkchezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 10:50 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
Same rings that come with the filter

Sent from my SM-G386T using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 10:51 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
trkchezz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 328
It's used and only have the sponge left, I think I'll replace it on this new tank.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
trkchezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 09:00 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mikem691's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,673
I would just add 2 fluval 110 bio ring bags. They sell the 2 pack at petsmart. And a new sponge is fine since you are not cycled

Sent from my SM-G386T using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
mikem691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 08:25 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
trkchezz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 328
Thanks for the tips!

Anyone know where I can buy some used filter media to speed up the process?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
trkchezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 11:20 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dylan p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 347
I'm sure your lfs would just give you some..


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
dylan p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 11:22 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
trkchezz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 328
I just moved a month ago and still need to scope out my local store...lol


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
trkchezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 11:24 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dylan p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 347
You can just throw a couple raw shrimp into pantyhose and leave it in your tank until ammonia spikes


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
dylan p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 12:18 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
trkchezz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 328
Yeah, I was going to just buy some ammonia from the hardware store. I wanted to speed up the process with some BB to start


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
trkchezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 09:47 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by trkchezz View Post
Thanks for the tips!

Anyone know where I can buy some used filter media to speed up the process?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Try AngelsPlus: http://www.angelsplus.com/FiltersSpongeActive.htm
It has been mentioned more than once on this forum:
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...rs-171019.html


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bio

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinions on my bio load Brisc0 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-26-2004 04:21 PM
bio load? border324 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-24-2004 11:49 AM
Bio Load pm64971 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 09-16-2003 01:38 PM
Bio Load Helpers pm64971 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 09-12-2003 04:38 PM
Bio Load pm64971 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 09-12-2003 08:38 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.