Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-22-2012, 01:10 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Black loach questions

I'm a newbie here and I recently aquired a 10G tropical community tank. It's fully cycled and I added a black loach just a few days ago. After my research I learned that they do better in groups so I do plan to get him a friend or two.

When I purchased him he was in a tank with at least 20 others with gravel. They were darting all over the place and burrowing under the gravel so I didn't think he would have an issue with my gravel. Since I added him I've noticed some crackling noises coming from my tank. It really freaked me out until I realized it was him unsuccessfully trying to burrow under my gravel. I have yet to see him successfully be able to hide there. I do have 2 cave decorations in my tank, but I rarely see him use them. He's almost always out and about. What are the best decorations or hiding places for loaches? I want to make him comfortable!

Old 03-22-2012, 02:12 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

I have a little cave with three openings on it that my loaches love to stay in. I think the reason they like it is because the openings don't let in a ton of light, and they don't go all the way to the gravel, they're like Windows on a house, so there's a little ledge if that makes sense. Other than that, idk why they like it so much. They live in there with two of my rope fish lol

Old 03-22-2012, 02:35 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict