Brand New To The Fish World

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

smilemadeofsun

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello, my name is Robert Ryan, I am a freelance artist, and I recently got hired at a local pet store as well. I went in with experience with different mammals but no experience with birds, reptiles or fish. I have learned insane amounts of information over the past month of working there, but I know full well that I've only barely scratched the surface of what I need to get into to make sure I am a knowledgable enough staff member at a place where we actually care about pets. Part of that was me being sent home with a 10 gallon tank set up from my work to learn. I have already cycled for 48 hours and introduced 3 Serpae Tetras into my tank after checking to make sure my levels are ok. I've waited to see how well these 3 were doing for about two weeks before thinking about adding more, but they seem to be doing well, and I have maintained my levels at a place where I think it's safe to introduce more in soon. I have heard that tetras like to be in a school of at least 6 but I've also heard that tetras tend to favor odd numbers, so do you think that 7 would be an ok number for a 10 gallon tank or is that pushing it too far? I appreciate any advice anyone has on Serpae Tetra care as I do some research myself to become a better fish owner. I have plans to buy a bigger tank once I get a hang of being a fish owner and getting a nice community tank going eventually! I look forward to chatting with you all and learning more about fish care here :)

-Robert

Welcome! 48hrs is no true cycle. You need to do a full nitrogen cycle for your fish. No worries, I didn't know either. Just look up fish in or fish less cycling here on the forum.