Brewing Bacteria

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishieMomma

Aquarium Advice Freak
As described elsewhere, I am a teacher getting ready to set up several aquariums for the new year: a 60, a 14, and a 5 gallon. In hopes or establishing these tanks as quickly as possible, with a fishless cycle of course, i am attempting to brew a colony of BBs on the fake plants, filter media, and wood pieces as one large batch.

I am using my cycled 14 gal tank at home for this experiment and am open to suggestions on doing this effectively. It has a mature BB colony already in the filter and I put in filter media I've been seeding I my big tank for a long times as well as most of the fake plants that were in my big tank (see the post about filling my tank with terra cotta pots and live plants). I have upped them temp and added a variety of fish food to the 14 to raise the ammonia. It's only at .25 at the moment. I guess I need to pick up another bottle of the ace ammonia- I've misplaced th one I used a while ago.

Anyone ever attempt to do this with tank filters and decorations before?especially in a large batch?

Attachments

• image-2332907293.jpg
    image-2332907293.jpg
    154.7 KB · Views: 96
I helped set up 4 tanks all within a few weeks. It took some planning - months in advance - but I was able to seed enough filter material (polyfil) in my filters to provide the tanks with enough BB. We still stocked slowly and watched params and only one tank actually saw a mini cycle. The others never had any detectable amounts of ammonia or nitrite.