Buying more fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chaddlee1978

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello. I am new to having fish. Before I knew anything we bought a 5 gallon aquarium and got 2 male guppies and 2(male we believe) black skirt tetras. Well, we updated to a 28 gallon tank. In the 28 gallon tank and the 5 gallon tank we got a cycled filter from a store and put it in the tanks, but it has only been 2 days since those filters were introduced. Now, the 5 gallon tank we only had the fish in it for 2 weeks and going through the cycle phase, which only got to 1 ppm in ammonia and no nitrites or nitrates. So, we just took the 4 fish from 5 gallon and put them in the 28 gallon tank. My question is this, can I get 3 more black tetras and quarantine them in the 5 gallon tank and after quarantine move them to big tank? I read where I need at least 6 black skirt tetras because they are a schooling fish. Or, should we get 2 black skirt tetras and 2 guppies and quarantine them and then add them to the big tank? Not sure what to do because I saw on aquadvisor where I need 5 to 6 guppies in a tank with 6 black skirt tetras and if I quarantine 4 black skirt tetras and then add them to the big tank there will be much more of them compared to guppies.
2. When I do quarantine in the 5 gallon, I will clean it out first but wondering do I still need to keep an eye on the ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate levels daily since my last reading after putting the cycled filter in showed 1 ppm for ammonia but no nitrites nor nitrates?

Thank for any help. This gets so confusing. Takes patience too.

Personally, move the fish you have to start with, and dont add anymore unless you are consistently seeing zero ammonia and nitrite over a week or so. This will mean you are cycled enough for the fish you have before you add some more.