Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-28-2017, 12:38 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 48
Can I add fish now? Fishless cycle UPDATE

My nitrite is not off the chart anymore! After 2 weeks of it being a horrible purple, and nitrate stuck at 5ppm, it is now reading 0.5ppm for nitrite! Hooray!

I tested it an hour or so after a huge water change so I'm weary about the result just cause there was no end in sight. Not that I don't think it's correct. I'm just in disbelief that I made it. The odd thing is that the ammonia went up to 0.25 from 0.

I will test it again when I wake up in the morning in hope that both ammo and nitrite to be 0.

It has been an arduous deal cycling the tank. It is such a relief now to finally get different reading results. I survived. Haha.

__________________

__________________
55tanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 02:30 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Autumnsky's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northern Colorado, USA
Posts: 14,439
Getting close
Tips and Tricks For Your Fastest Fishless Cycle! - Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
FW & SW
Favorite tank right now - 12G Edge nano fish

New to FW fish? First tank in a long time or EVER??? Need some info on keeping fish?
Start here - Aquarium Advice Article
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/guide...ater-aquarium/
Autumnsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 07:50 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,011
Adding Fish

Quote:
Originally Posted by 55tanker View Post
My nitrite is not off the chart anymore! After 2 weeks of it being a horrible purple, and nitrate stuck at 5ppm, it is now reading 0.5ppm for nitrite! Hooray!

I tested it an hour or so after a huge water change so I'm weary about the result just cause there was no end in sight. Not that I don't think it's correct. I'm just in disbelief that I made it. The odd thing is that the ammonia went up to 0.25 from 0.

I will test it again when I wake up in the morning in hope that both ammo and nitrite to be 0.

It has been an arduous deal cycling the tank. It is such a relief now to finally get different reading results. I survived. Haha.

Hello 55...

You can add a hardy fish species at any time. I prefer Platys. They're easy to keep and will tolerate some changes in the water chemistry. As long as you're testing the tank water daily for traces of ammonia and nitrite and change out one-quarter of the water when you have a positive test, the fish will be fine. When several daily tests show no traces of these forms of nitrogen, the tank is established. Then, you simply remove and replace half or more of the water weekly to maintain healthy water conditions.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 09:22 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBradbury View Post
Hello 55...

You can add a hardy fish species at any time. I prefer Platys. They're easy to keep and will tolerate some changes in the water chemistry. As long as you're testing the tank water daily for traces of ammonia and nitrite and change out one-quarter of the water when you have a positive test, the fish will be fine. When several daily tests show no traces of these forms of nitrogen, the tank is established. Then, you simply remove and replace half or more of the water weekly to maintain healthy water conditions.

B
I've had the two zebra danios back in there and they've been a trooper. It's not a fishless cycle but I just kept the same title for consistency of when I tried the fishless cycle which I'll never attempt again.
__________________
55tanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 09:24 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Autumnsky View Post
Thanks, I have read that. But I read it again just cause you gave me the link.
__________________
55tanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 04:01 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,104
You need to test before your water change, testing after the change is going to give inconsistent results, especially if you have chloramines in your tap water.

If you can add ammonia and have ammonia and nitrite at 0 after 24 hours you are ready for fish.
__________________
dalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 02:51 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalto View Post
You need to test before your water change, testing after the change is going to give inconsistent results, especially if you have chloramines in your tap water.

If you can add ammonia and have ammonia and nitrite at 0 after 24 hours you are ready for fish.
I didn't know that but I didn't test it right after the change. But the next morning the result was the same so I'm glad it wasn't a fluke.
__________________

__________________
55tanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, cycle, fish, fishless, fishless cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I add fish now? Fishless cycle 55tanker Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 15 09-19-2017 07:43 PM
20 gallon tank end of fishless cycle ? Can I now add the fish ?? Aquaaura Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 12-30-2013 10:58 AM
Can I do a fishless cycle and THEN add plants and decorations? Gnarls Gnarlington Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 06-27-2011 11:28 PM
Can you add plants during a fishless cycle? jm667 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 04-16-2009 02:31 PM
Update on my fishless cycle - am I cycled now? 99RedSi Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 11-04-2004 09:44 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.