Can someone please check

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

earwig999

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
my water test results?

I got an API Master Test Kit but it came with no card to check the colours on.

I downloaded some pictures from the net but not sure if the printer is giving me the correct colours.

Anyway I get them as follows from left to right -

PH - 7.4
Ammonia - 0.25
No2 (NitrIte) - 0
No3 (NitrAte) - 10

Does this sound correct?

I have been doing a fish in cycle for a few weeks, but only just got a test kit. I have been maintaining water changes every couple of days and also using ornaments and filter media from another aquarium to help speed things up.

Attachments

• IMG_0179.jpg
    IMG_0179.jpg
    126.5 KB · Views: 94
  • IMG_0180.jpg
    IMG_0180.jpg
    162.9 KB · Views: 92
I have disposed of the samples now so will have to test again tomorrow and take a photo with white background. Can NitrAte be too high and should I continue as I have been or try to increase my ammonia?

You have fish in the tank? How many and what kind? You don't add ammonia with fish in cycle your fish create it. As your ammonia and nitrItes decrease you're going to see an increase in nitrAtes, which should be kept at or below 20 (when doing a fish in cycle), the way you remove them when they get too high is by your water changes.

It looks to me as if you have some nitrIte as well. With fish in the tank and ammonia at .25 I'd consider doing a pwc tonight. Is this the first time nitrite has shown up or has it gone through the spike already and is coming down?

If you haven't seen it, there's a link in my signature called "new tank with fish;" it'll guide you through.

Woke up this morning to two of my fish dead :(

They had been ok before. Done a 50% PWC after testing again this morning.

Worryingly the results are as follows -