Cant decide between fish-less or fish cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bomber4494

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone i'm new to the aquarium game and just got a 10 gallon Top Fin Starter Kit the other night. Yesterday i set up everything, treated the water with Seachem Prime, and got everything running. I've been browsing this site the past couple of days, doing all of my research. The problem is still can't decide whether to do cycle my tank with or without fish. I know that the general consensus for newbies is to just do a fish-less cycle but if i just do some simple water changes everyday wont i fine cycling the tank with fish. TIA

Hi everyone i'm new to the aquarium game and just got a 10 gallon Top Fin Starter Kit the other night. Yesterday i set up everything, treated the water with Seachem Prime, and got everything running. I've been browsing this site the past couple of days, doing all of my research. The problem is still can't decide whether to do cycle my tank with or without fish. I know that the general consensus for newbies is to just do a fish-less cycle but if i just do some simple water changes everyday wont i fine cycling the tank with fish. TIA

I cycled my 10g with fish, two platys. I will warn you: it will take time and dedication. There were
Days, not all days but some days, I had to do multiple water changes in a day. One thing you will need if you don't already have one, is a
Good test kit, API master liquid test kit is recommended here. If you decide to do a fish in, Test water daily and do a water change anytime ammonia or nitrite is at .25.

You can do a fish-in cycle. Just make sure you have a good test kit so you know when to change the water. Don't add too many fish. If you can, find some "seed " material to put in your filter from an established tank. Good luck!