Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-27-2011, 10:43 PM   #1
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 479
Send a message via Skype™ to QuietPlotter
Carbon VS No Carbon

I'm hearing alot of things about the pros and cons of carbon in an aquarium filter. Based on many things being said, I plan not to use carbon in my 10g. Will this hurt my fish, as in, will it change anything as far as water goes? I'm swapping out the filter.


Please post your arguments for carbon here, so I can finally settle on what to do with it.


QP
__________________

__________________
QuietPlotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 01:57 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Fishnova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 245
If you have a planted tank, I would suggest taking it out as it will filter out nutrients from your water that the plants need.

If not, its usually only necessary in taking out any chemicals. (Fish meds...etc)
__________________

__________________
Fishnova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 02:03 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
I don't use it. I don't see the point. If your tank is clean and well maintained why would you need something like carbon. It only lasts a few weeks then you have to chuck it and buy more. As I said, I don't see the point. (except for med removal)
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 02:48 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JesseMessykinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Wells Tannery, PA
Posts: 409
Honestly I dont knwo yet. I just cut my filter pad and took out the carbon, today. I have a Lightly planted tank atm. Im gonning to boost more plants into it here soon. It seems to be the same to me. Cant Really tell after 10 hours tho. :/
__________________
JesseMessykinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 11:08 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Clearfield, Pennsylvania
Posts: 48
The most compelling reason I've heard for not using carbon is that it can leech phosphates into the water (is this true??). That and, as was already mentioned, a healthy filter system should be adequate except for removal of medicines. I've never seen a convincing argument for why someone would want to use carbon otherwise.
__________________
miles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 05:32 PM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 479
Send a message via Skype™ to QuietPlotter
Hmmm... Jesse, have you noticed anything yet?
__________________
QuietPlotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 05:38 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheCrazyFishLady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,942
I don't bother with it unless I have a filter that has cartridges that cannot be substituted. Honestly, just buy the filter floss and cut my own pads. So much cheaper and just takes a minute.

I haven't seen any difference between using it and not using it. I have never heard of this phosphate thing. It can't be that bad. In like Brita filters, it's carbon that is filtering the water and humans drink it. It can't be bad for our fish then.

I bought a container of it when I first started, so I use it every so often just to get rid of it. haha. I have a problem with just throwing stuff out.
__________________
55gPLANTED:Rainbows/Loaches/Garras|30gVIV:Crestie|20gL:Leos|10g:Pearl Fighter|5g:Betta|5gChi:Spark Gourami/Badis|5g:ADF|2.5g:Betta|2.5g:Betta|
TheCrazyFishLady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 05:50 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
OasisKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern California High Desert
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by miles View Post
The most compelling reason I've heard for not using carbon is that it can leech phosphates into the water (is this true??).
It is possible, yes. Probable, no. Base material used for conversion to carbon is sometimes 'activated' with phosphoric acid. If you buy quality brands made for aquarium use, I think this very unlikely. Also the amount leeched would be extremely small.

Like most things that go into an aquarium, it is often best practice to use things only when you believe there is a compelling reason to use them. And so it is for carbon.
__________________

__________________
29 Planted - Hair Algae, don/t you hate it?
55 Mbuna - Current home to 14 juvenile Soulosi
OasisKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
carbon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carbon inserts vs. Activated carbon PreciousAri Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 26 11-15-2011 12:49 AM
Carbon Filter I Fluval Edge 23ltr asboss Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 11-06-2011 03:09 PM
Removing carbon from filter Impulse09 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 11-04-2011 12:50 PM
Carbon? warvillian Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 11-01-2011 07:36 PM
HOB Filter inserts w/out carbon? theoutdoorsykid General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 07-30-2011 02:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.