Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-30-2011, 06:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 682
choosing substrate

I already know I'm going to use pool filter sand but is there any perferable kind?
__________________

__________________
BakerBoy17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 06:57 PM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
I've used several kinds. Leslies is one of the easier to find it seems, but most of them look exactly alike. I've found it for $1.99/50lb at Meijer (regional chain), and no more than $10/50lb at other places. Leslies is $9/50lb. I've always had the lighter color, but recently, some members have posted pics of a much darker (and better looking IMO) PFS that they found. PFS is PFS though, when you get down to the chemical aspects of it.
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 07:03 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 682
Alright thanks! I just picked some up from leslies! 100 lbs of it.
__________________
BakerBoy17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 07:10 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 682
And you can have live plants with it right?
__________________
BakerBoy17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 07:11 PM   #5
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
Yep... I have PFS in two of my planted tanks
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 07:13 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 682
Alright good! Thank you! Can I have a regualar light with java moss? Since its a low light plant. Or do I need something more then the light that came with my tank?
__________________
BakerBoy17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 07:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
Yes, I'd say you could keep java moss with a flashlight.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 07:18 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 682
You talking about an actual flashlight or stating how crappy my light is? Haha either one is true. I would upgrade but there's no good lights for 20 bucks. Haha but what other plants would be good in a 75 gallon tank
__________________
BakerBoy17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 07:21 PM   #9
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
Just saying how undemanding java moss is... I left some in the dark for a couple weeks accidentally and it was still green.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 07:22 PM   #10
Great white snark
 
DragonFish71's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 6,563
You can get 6500k bulbs at Walmart. The wattage is low, I have 4 of the 4 footers (48inch) over one of my tanks, they're only 40w each but with java moss, java ferns and anubias you don't need special lighting. You'd think I had more light on that tank with as bright as it is.
__________________
Jamie.... "The fingers of natural selection are hovering over the delete button."
AA community rules: https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ork&page=rules

AA ToS
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/misc.php?do=sknetwork&page=tos
DragonFish71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 07:26 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 682
Oh wow. And I'm thinking of doing a DIY CO2 system. You don't really need it though right? Just to compete with algae?
__________________
BakerBoy17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 07:28 PM   #12
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
co2 doesn't do anything to algae. What it does is allow plants to grow quicker, which in turns takes up nutrients, which limits algae growth. With java moss, you're wasting your time with co2 IMO
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 07:30 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 682
I know I wouldn't do it for the java moss. I meant in the furture I might if I want to add more colorful plants. But I haven't been to my lfs lately, does your petsmart have java moss?
__________________

__________________
BakerBoy17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Substrate for planted tank Keybler Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 07-19-2011 09:23 PM
What's the best bottom dweller substrate out there? vialznk Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 07-17-2011 07:57 PM
Substrate Rebel1970 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 07-11-2011 07:22 AM
fuge substrate blueandgoldaquarium Saltwater Reef Aquaria 31 07-07-2011 10:17 AM
Looking for a light tan substrate for 50 gal planted tank... Gnarls Gnarlington Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 06-26-2011 06:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.