Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-22-2013, 07:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Cleaning my API test tubes

I was wondering when cleaning the test tubes is it ok to use tap water?
__________________

__________________
EKap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 07:24 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 670
That's what I do... I pour out what I tested, add tap water, shake it & pour it out. I do this twice.
__________________

__________________
Rare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 08:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
armymp327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 685
yup just let me sit with the caps off so they will dry all the way
__________________
armymp327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 11:29 PM   #4
jlk
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 11,119
Tap is fine unless your tap has high ammonia, nitrite or nitrate. If it does, I would rinse the tubes in distilled to avoid skewing your tank results.
__________________
jlk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 12:44 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Clean it with tap water let dry. When testing I swish it around in tank water then fill to test.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 01:48 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
MMantelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,259
I use tap water and rinse about 10 times each and about every dozen uses I boil the tubes and caps for a few minutes.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Check out our fish clubs Facebook page. https://www.facebook.com/CFLKeepersOfAquatica
MMantelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 04:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Bo-Gee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 23
I rinse the tubes in hot tap water, then fill each halfway and put the cover on and shake it, and then rinse the covers and tubes again.....then just tip them upside down on paper towel for about 10 min. Voila - all done
__________________
Bo-Gee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:23 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 670
I stick the paper towel in the test tube as im twisting the paper towel to dry it up ASAP.

Test tube + Our home= not safe... lol
__________________

__________________
Rare is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
api, clean, cleaning, test, test tube

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.