Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-13-2021, 05:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Cloudy tank

Hello folks. I'm new to fish ownership and I'm having issues getting my tank to clear up. We started the tank in December and for the last month it has been pretty cloudy. It was a greenish color so I added a bit of aqueon algae remover. Now it looks kind of bluish but my snails are hanging out above the water which concerns me. I'm supposed to dose it again in a couple days but not sure if I should. I have tried several water changes, reducing the light on time but no luck. pH is 8.2 and ammonia, nitrate and nitrite are all zero. Any ideas you can give would be great.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CE57A41E-22DC-49FC-8CB9-93F28E49BC13.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	253.1 KB
ID:	320536  

Old 04-13-2021, 11:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular

Has it been like this for a month? That's a long time, I would bet on the death of some bacteria, what are you using as biological filtration?

Old 04-14-2021, 09:21 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by LaloJ View Post
Has it been like this for a month? That's a long time, I would bet on the death of some bacteria, what are you using as biological filtration?
Yes itís been a month or so. I have been using a top fin activated carbon cartridge.I changed it once about 2 weeks ago.
Old 04-15-2021, 02:09 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by lola10 View Post
Yes itís been a month or so. I have been using a top fin activated carbon cartridge.I changed it once about 2 weeks ago.
That is chemical filtration in the water, what do you have as biological filtration? Where do the bacteria in your tank lodge?
Old 04-15-2021, 02:58 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Quote: