Cloudy water, First Cycle, Odd readings

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kwaheri

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Greetings, I'm very new to the hobby, and this forum, so if I am doing this wrong, i'm sorry.

I'm having a couple issues. Brand new 5 gallon aquarium. Tap water, rinsed accessories. I used API stress coat+ To get rid of the chlorine, and my test strip shows no Cl_2, so I assume that worked.

I measured with API Master freshwater test kit, that my pH was high, (low pH drops show bright blue, not the blue green it should be, and high pH drops show brown). I've been putting in a REALLY large amount (enough for 20 gallons says the bottle) of Fritz pH Lower, and it is still showing that bright blue that is 7.6 or above. I don't know why in the world it's not going down to the 7.0 pH I need.

Also, I used some API Quick Start, and I am not getting anything for nitrate or nitrite. I put a little ammonia in (Fritz fishless fuel) and i am reading no ammonia.

I don't think this is cycling, the pH is not going down, and it's really cloudy. I read a lot that says cloudy is normal for a new tank, but it's been this way for about 2.5 weeks now and nothing is changing. As far as I know I'm doing everything "right" but it doesn't seem to be working. I have no idea what to do, so I am hoping to find some help here. I REALLY appreciate your time and help.

I will attach some pictures (the strips are Saysummer 7 in 1 Aquarium Test Strips)

also, Is this plant/mountain set up ok for a betta? I am worried that it's too dense, or not dense enough or... I literally know nothing, but I don't want to give my fish a bad life.

Attachments

• WIN_20210826_00_39_54_Pro.jpg
    WIN_20210826_00_39_54_Pro.jpg
    185 KB · Views: 40
  • WIN_20210826_00_39_29_Pro.jpg
    WIN_20210826_00_39_29_Pro.jpg
    176.9 KB · Views: 38
  • WIN_20210826_00_40_49_Pro.jpg