Compatibility ideas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bsherb34

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, I am a newb to this forum, but do plan to use it often, as everyone on here seems very knowledgable.

So.... I have a 47 g tall tank square. It was a lot bigger than my original idea of a 20-30 g but what the ****. I got too good of a deal to pass up. But anyways. We have about 8 live plants at the bottom (2 plants of four different kinds). The lady at the pet store convinced me to go with traditional smaller gravel stating that it is easier maintenace and most fish like it. I also have one cave looking thing in there that might be nice for fish to hide in. I havent had a tank in probably ten years so Im gonna deem myself "new" to the fish world again.

Originally I wanted to get about 4 African Ciclids (electric yellows) but somehow my fiance convinced to that we NEEDED angelfish to i ended up switching my whole tank set up and plan to the current one. I know ciclids do not like live plants and tear them out as well as needing a higher pH so that is why i cannot use them. So therefor i am planning on a semi agressive community tank.

With that said we are planning on getting angelfish as the primary because thats what she wants.

My questions are fairly simple:

How many angelfish would be recommended for a 47g tall tank?

What other fish would you guys recommend as far as compatibility with the angels?

I do not want to waste the space so i did a little research to find that angelfish tend to swim towards the middle of the tank so I need to find some fish that swim towards the bottom and likewise towards the top. Other than inverted fish what kind of fish would stay more towards the top?

What kind of bottom feeders are recommended?

All suggestions and ideas are GREATLY appreciated. Thank you in advance for your time.