Complete novice needing some help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mrsut

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, this is my first post and I am looking for any advice I can get. I have searched and searched sites and forums and I am getting a little confused with the amount of information out there so decided to show and describe where I am at and see what pointers I can get, so here goes...

For over a year now I have collected and set up various small tanks housing frogs and toads recently expanding into a new large vivarium which is totally bioactive. All live planting and springtails and other cultures creating a fantastic eco system which is working well however I have also started to set up an aquarium tank which currently houses some fire bellied toads and a paddle tail newt which I will be adding some ghost and cherry shrimp and some cloud minnows at a later date. I have had similar working in a smaller tank previously but in keeping with the vivarium eco system I have planted this one creating a more natural aquascape. Trouble is I have never worked on this scale before, have never worked with live aquarium plants and have little experience of aquariums in general.

My tank is around 2.5ft.
I added a base layer of standard gravel to the bottom of the tank before adding Tetra complete substrate. Over this went a fine gravel.
I then added rocks, drift wood, various live plants and a moss ball.
I added a small filter which stirs the surface of the water, a little fish food and I set the lighting away on a timer. This I ran for around a week.
I added my toads and newt and left a further two weeks.