Conflicting advice = consolidate questions.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

imahawki

Aquarium Advice Regular
OK, I'm a newbie to the forum and have been asking a lot of questions. I have some ideas about what I want to accomplish so I've been posting about lighting, substrate, filters, etc. in the appropriate forums. But here is a consolidation of my thoughts and questions for everyone to view at once and make sure that person A is telling my correct advice and person B is telling me correct advice but A & B dont know that I'm asking conflicting questions. So here goes...

1) I have a 35 gallon hex tank. Its about 22" tall and probably about 20"-22" wide point to point, which means its probably a little less, side to side.

2) I had planned on putting live plants in here so I've already done a 100% flourite substrate.

3) I dont have much area on top of the tank due to the hood design for light. I found the 36w x 1 kit at hello lights will fit under the shroud of my current light bar so it will look nice. Anything larger than that wont fit through the small pane of glass so I'd have to try to commission someone to due a custom tempered all glass lid which is probably not in the cards. I've gotten a lot of lighting recomendations, most of which will not work with my current hood, so my options are limited.

4) The water here is pretty hard and high pH (7.8-8.0 out of the tap). I've already added some natural driftwood to soften a bit and of course I can treat the pH but I'd rather not fight the natural water TOO much (i.e. I'm not wanting to put the work in to support a 6.5pH softwater fish).

5) One of the ideas I'm toying with is to do basically an all guppy tank (save a handful or corys and ottos) with the hopes that they would breed.

Let me know what your thoughts based on these criteria.