Critique a newbies setup and routine

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

helicopter

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am relatively new to keeping an aquairum (about 3 months) + a year of a beta. I currently have a 6 gallon eclipse tank with white sand and a bunch of plants, sorry I don't know the names of the plants except the java moss. I also have a few shells in there. I usually try to put some ghosht shrimp (3-4) in there when my petsmart has them, but recently I killed all of them + my apple snail by using an algae remover which didn't say it on the bottle, but I looked it up online and it says it kills inverts. So currently I have 1 dwarf puffer (i had two but the other one died) two pristella tetra, and a pygmy catfish. I know this is a lot of fish for the tank but as they grow I will move them to another tank. Also I know about the aggrassive behavior of dp's (the other dwarf puffer used to terrorize my current one before he himself died, found him with a bloated stomach after eating way too many brine shrimp, my mistake). Currently this dp does not act aggessive at all to the other fish (probably female), although sometimes, I don't know if its intentional, the pygmy catfish torpedos the dp (as he goes to surface). I feed them tetras flake food and the catfish algae wafers. I also feed them frozen bloodworms, blackworms, I just received 50 pond snails which I am going to breed and feed to my dp, and every so often freshly hatched brine shrimp (which I am trying to perfect my procedure to not over feed them my fish with them but also not waste them). I also have another 2.5 gallon bowfront which I had a beta in before it was moved to a bioorb at my gf's place. I might have to move the tetras there if fighting starts.