Cycle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

squarecompass2002

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to this site and the aquarium world:confused: I have researched this site looking for an explanation of cycling.
Would someone please explain the cycle process everyone is speaking of?:confused:
For everyone who is going to ask I have a 36gal bow front with approximately 20 small community fish guppies’ tetras platys. I have just had to set up a larger tank for my bala and silver tip shark and I also have a South American dragon fish that is what Petsmart called it:-?. I evicted them from there 10 gal ammonium death trap to a 75-gallon mansion:D.
All my tanks were set up for 7 days without fish and then stocked slowly.
I am waiting on a Rena xp3 for the 75 and in the meantime, I am running a emperor 300 biowheel and a whisper 60 with a power head.
I am new to this and small time so any help would be greatly appreciated.:D

Welcome to the site! We'd be glad to help you out.

There is a link in my sig for the Nitrogen Cycle. This explains what you're asking about.

Since you're adding fish, you're going to cycle the tank with them. It's important that you have a good test kit and are willing to do water changes frequently to keep your fish healthy during the cycle.

There's another link in my sig for fishless cycling. I'd recommend reading that too, and considering taking your fish to the LFS for temporary housing until your tank is cycled.

cycle in a couple of words

1 fish and plants (as well as other stuff) create garbage in your tank
2 garbage decomposes into AMMONIA (NH3)
3 nh3 + water and a little bit of light (h2o) create nitrites (no2)
4 no2 + water and a LOT of light create nitrates (no3)
5 plants + light eat no2 and no3 (more the no2 then the no3)

ammonia nitrites and nitrates are toxic (long term) to your fish