Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-01-2006, 03:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 81
Cycle-- How do YOU Cycle your tank?

yea, what the title says. Im curious how everyone cycles their tanks. I know they're a few different ways.

so, how do you cycle your tanks?

with fish or no? ect ect
__________________

__________________
10 gal nano reef
• 2 percula clowns
• 1 Yellow Tailed Blue Damsel
• 2 types of Mushrooms
• Assorted Polyps
• 3 Red Legged Hermit Crabs
• Assorted Snails (lost count)

• 8 Betta's (CT's and HM's)
DragonFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 04:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jrp1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 1,875
Send a message via AIM to jrp1588
for my 75gal I threw some shrimp pellets in there to rot and just let it sit for a while. Also seeded the filter with some media from my 30gal tank.
__________________

__________________
jrp1588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 04:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tiffi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: first ST-Germany, now TN-USA
Posts: 1,051
I've cycled all my tanks without with, with the use of cheap flake food.

Each time it took me about 5-6weeks to cycle the tank, I've always added about a teaspoon every few days (for a 70gal), waited till it's gone, made as much as maybe 2 pwc in that time and had no problems with algae.

Besides, after the cycle I've been able to immediately keep happy German Blue Rams and a few weeks later Otos. So everything works just fine for me.
__________________
Previously: 2x 10gal tank, 45gal aquascaped, 70gal aquascaped
Currently: 16gal FW, 40W CF, ADA Aquasoil Amazonia II/Tahitan Moon Sand, PH 6.5, kH2, gH 4
Tiffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 04:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I cycled my tanks by running the new filter on an established tank for a few weeks. The original tank cycle was done with fish...many many fish that ultimately died beacuse I had no clue what a cycle was.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 04:28 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 520
Send a message via ICQ to Codefox Send a message via AIM to Codefox Send a message via MSN to Codefox Send a message via Yahoo to Codefox
I'm going to try giving Seachem's Stability a try.
__________________
Codefox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 04:38 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jrp1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 1,875
Send a message via AIM to jrp1588
yeah, when I first set up my 30gal I had never heard of a cycle. Set up the tank, added water, let it sit for a night, and added fish. All of them survived though, and this was even before I had heard of doing waterchanges and such.
__________________
jrp1588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 04:43 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 81
at least this is a learning thread. when I get my new tank (30 gal or so), Im going to use some gravel and such from my 15 gal mature tank to help the cycling. I may use that filter for a while, or put the new filter in the old tank for a week.
__________________
10 gal nano reef
• 2 percula clowns
• 1 Yellow Tailed Blue Damsel
• 2 types of Mushrooms
• Assorted Polyps
• 3 Red Legged Hermit Crabs
• Assorted Snails (lost count)

• 8 Betta's (CT's and HM's)
DragonFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 04:49 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,764
I have never purposely cycled a tank in my life. If I have a live filter, that would be my preference, but I seldom have the luxury of planning a cycled tank. Often I have bought fish at an auction, brought them home set up a sterile tank, and put the fish in. I don't test the water anymore, but I know that I will be changing water more frequently, until the cycle establishes. When that happens I couldn't tell you. I routinely change large amounts of water, so it is not a concern. I did that with the most expensive fry I have ever bought, and they are surving and gowing7 months later. I wanted them in a sterile environment that was uncontaminated by previous fish. I have yet to lose any fish from this practice.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 06:25 PM   #9
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
With 65 tanks, I just swap cycled filter media on to the new tank....otherwise I would likely fishless cycle.
__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 06:36 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jrp1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 1,875
Send a message via AIM to jrp1588
*falls over dead at the staggering amount of tanks*
__________________
jrp1588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 06:37 PM   #11
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrp1588
*falls over dead at the staggering amount of tanks*
Fall over dead at the staggering water and electrical bills....
__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 07:28 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I am just in awe of the amount of tanks you have Toirtis. I couldn't imagine how long it takes you to feed them all, let alone water changes. I would love to see pics sometime of your tanks.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 07:40 PM   #13
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishyfanatic
I couldn't imagine how long it takes you to feed them all,
About 10-12 minutes.

Quote:
let alone water changes.
About 2-3 hours daily, but I work in a well-oiled routine.
__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 08:27 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 102
Yeah... Toirtis must have lots of room. If I had the space I'd probably have that many tanks too. Right now I'm just trying to figure out where I could possibly fit a 29g amphibian tank that's on my mind thanks to this forum.
jgc8fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 10:08 PM   #15
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgc8fan
Yeah... Toirtis must have lots of room.
Nope....just tanks everywhere....everywhere.
__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 10:22 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
That is why I plan on buying a new house, the kitchen table has the 5 gal now.

As for cycling, now that I know better, I add pure ammonia to the water and keep the ammonia at 4ppm until the cycle is over. Now that I have 7 tanks, I swap filter media tank to tank.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 11:02 PM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
In my early days in the hobby (20+ years ago) there was no talk of cycling - most people did not even change water, just topped off. I cycled my tanks but I did not know I was doing it, lol. Later I learned about cycling and cycled with fish, and saw how stressful this was and learned that I could cycle fishless with household ammonia - how cool! This took about 6 weeks on average for me and after accumulating several tanks (not anywhere near Toirtis' level, trust me!) I realized I could use the bacteria from those tanks to get new tanks started. Now I do this without even a second thought. I don't even own an ammonia or nitrite test kit anymore.

I have used Bio-Spira to set up new tanks for other people and for public displays, and when used correctly it works exactly like seed material - basically overnight. These days I have so much seed material I don't have to shell out the bucks for Bio-Spira, and every new tank is seeded with mucky filter floss.
__________________

TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About to cycle tank pirateshake Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 08-06-2008 10:40 AM
how much LR should i use to cycle the tank? hc8719 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 10-04-2006 09:31 AM
Cycle (In Progress) ? and Clean Up Crew ? (Post Cycle) SuperWade2 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 02-23-2006 04:58 PM
To cycle or not to cycle.... (2-gallon tank) fearlessfisch Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-17-2004 12:34 PM
Cycle new tank edison9114 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 09-18-2003 09:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.