Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-29-2006, 01:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to Thaiboxer
Cycle Jumpstart Question

Hey all,

I'm pretty experienced with aquariums, but have never tried this before. I am running RO water on two new aquariums and setting them up one at a time. So I'm starting from scratch with no cycling done.

A friend of mine has an established 20 gallon, so yesterday we put my Bio-Wheel filter on his tank. I'm going to leave it there for a bit to "borrow" his bacteria.

Question: How long does my filter need to run on his tank to get a good colony going?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Thaiboxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 05:14 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 167
Send a message via AIM to megos1
what size tank are you starting up? and are you doing fresh or brackish??
__________________

__________________
*Megan O*
megos1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 06:09 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
with the limited info provided, a good rule of thumb is 2-3 weeks. that should be enough time to seed your bio wheel.
whether it seeds enough to handle the bioload you plan to put in your tank is still unknown.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2006, 11:38 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to Thaiboxer
Sorry, it's a tall 15 gallon. I'll be starting slowly with 2-3 fish, then increase the load after watching for ammonia and nitrite spikes.

Thanks for your input!
__________________
Thaiboxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 11:02 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
I would go for 2 or 3 weeks also.

Only way to shorten that would be to take colonized media from your friends tank, and pack your filter full of it. Your friends filter could likely give up to half his media without ill effects, but most would not want to give up more than 25 percent at a time.

I think the "run the filter on an established tank" method is the simplest, surest, and least disturbing method for both tanks. It just requires some forethought and access to an established and healthy tank. You would still want to stock conservatively, and not go to full levels right away. like you already planned on.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Jumpstart Coraline Growth jonboyb Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 11-04-2008 09:34 AM
Cycle question mazilla Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 8 11-22-2006 12:41 PM
jumpstart cycling deepwater Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 10-30-2004 03:48 PM
seeding my new tank to jumpstart cycle rubysoho Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 10-25-2004 09:48 PM
Another cycle question zeusmoon Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 04-19-2004 05:44 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.