Cycle Problems

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheFragile

Aquarium Advice Regular
OK, so please do not crucify me, I am brand new to the aquarium world and got my son a 6.5 gallon tank. I was told some bad advice from a few different sources (including pet stores) regarding how to set the tank up. Certainly did my research, but apparently did not look in the right places, SOOOOO... I am cycling with fish.

In my 6.5 gallon tank, I have 4 neon tetras and 3 ghost shrimp as well as a single live plant. I set up the tank with the fish probably a little over a month ago. I have a master test kit, and check ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate daily. I do partial water changes (25%-50%) every other day or more if needed. My ammonia levels seem to rise about 0.25ppm daily. I use Prime dechlorinator to treat the water before it goes in the tank.

I am also adding Stability for the bacteria to try to help it along. I only feed the fish a teeny bit a day, no more than they can eat in 5 minutes. Everyone seems happy and healthy, but I cannot seem to get past this phase. My next step is to head to the fish store to see if they will give me something from an established tank to help it along.

Is there anything that I am missing here as to why my bacteria just doesn't seem to want to establish? Also, what should I ask for as far as something from an established tank? A piece of filter? Where do I put it once I get it? In my current filter? Thanks in advance!