cycling a Quarantine Tank??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DanS180

Aquarium Advice Addict
Never did a QT before so bare with me.

I set up a 10G QT for my 180G and have been wondering, does the tank have be cycled?? And how long does it usually take? I put a HOB filter on it with used media from my 180 and just let it run, it's been running for a few days and I'm showing a little bit of ammonia, little bit of nitrites and no nitrates.

I actually plan on getting a bigger tank for a QT just haven't figured out where I'm putting it yet lol

like i said I'm new to the QT so i have no idea lol do i need to have it up n running at all times? Or just when i need it to actually Quarantine fish?

It's up to you. It won't hurt to run it all the time with a couple of small fish in it, but if you don't move them out when you put your QT fish in they might be exposed to anything the new fish have.

Leaving it empty till you need to QT and then adding seeded media works fine just keep an eye on parameters.

jetajockey said:
It's up to you. It won't hurt to run it all the time with a couple of small fish in it, but if you don't move them out when you put your QT fish in they might be exposed to anything the new fish have.

Leaving it empty till you need to QT and then adding seeded media works fine just keep an eye on parameters.

Oh okay, lol i thought it had to always be running. So say I buy my new fish, I could pour water into the tank with the seeded media and then just put the fish in there?? No prime or anything??

Well, yeah, you'd want to put a water conditioner in there.