Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-29-2020, 04:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Cycling freshwater

Hello! I am new to the freshwater hobby and im wondering how to properly cycle a new tank. Is it similar to saltwater? Adding ammonia until the tank figured it out itself? Thank you for helping!

Old 06-29-2020, 05:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

Broadly speaking there are 2 methods.

Fish in cycle. Put a small number of hardy fish. Control ammonia and nitrites with regular water changes until the tank is cycled sufficiently for those fish. Then add a few more, rinse and repeat until you are stocked.

Fishless cycle. Dose ammonia and test daily until your tank can process 2ppm ammonia to 0ppm ammonia and nitrites in 24 hours.

Old 06-29-2020, 06:15 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aiken Drum View Post
Broadly speaking there are 2 methods.

Fish in cycle. Put a small number of hardy fish. Control ammonia and nitrites with regular water changes until the tank is cycled sufficiently for those fish. Then add a few more, rinse and repeat until you are stocked.

Fishless cycle. Dose ammonia and test daily until your tank can process 2ppm ammonia to 0ppm ammonia and nitrites in 24 hours.

Ok. I did the fishless cycle for my saltwater. I like that method. I put a raw shrimp in for ammonia, can I do the same or no? Or should I add like bottles of ammonia. Also I plan on making this a planted tank, should I add plants after it cycles?
Old 06-29-2020, 07:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

You can use either . I use pure ammonia cause it is easier to dose certain amounts and less mess than a shrimp .
Old 06-29-2020, 08:27 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeatl View Post