Cycling help needed!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

krystl

Aquarium Advice Newbie
O, wise fish people - HELP!!

I am a total newbie. I bought six black phantom tetras about a month ago and put them into my 12 gallon tank. I've only done one partial water change, about a week ago, just to clean up the water and vacuum the gravel. I haven't done any more water changes since my liquid test kit is not reading any ammonia whatsoever. The fish don't seem particularly happy. They hide in the corner in a tight little school much of the time. One of the fish died just before I did the water change. He looked fine, I have no idea why he died. They all eat, although one of the bigger ones is aggressive and tries to hog it all. Today, though, when I came home from work, one of the fish was hovering listlessly near the top (no gasping at the surface, though), and sort of drifting in an alarming manner. The others seem twitchy, and they are clamping their top fins a bit - not too tightly, but not fanning them the way they normally do. I have tested for nitrites - nothing. The pH levels are normal, and the temperature is just right, according to my heater and thermometer. Anyhow, I just have no idea what to do to get the cycle going.

I did have one other set of fish, in this same tank, previously, also black phantom tetras - they were just fine, even though the tank never seemed to cycle then, either. They were fine until we introduced a pictus catfish, who promptly got ich and gave it to everyone else. I got some bad advice from my aquarium store ("just wait a few days and see what happens"), so all my fish died. I thoroughly cleaned everything out, studied everything I could about ich so THAT wouldn't happen again, and restocked the tank.