Cycling one of my 55 gallon tanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bbryant573

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to this hobby and new to this forum. And this post is probably going to be very long, because I want to tell you everything that I have done and what information that I have received from my FB groups.

We have 2 55 gallon tanks.. the first one we set up I am not too worried about, I think I just need to let it do it’s thing….

The 2nd 55 gallon tank is where I want to make sure I am going down the right path. Now mind you I have a notebook and i have kept track of everything that I have done.
Aug. 4 - my boyfriend suggested that we just put water in the tank and let it sit for 24 hours. So that’s what we did, we put in the gravel and we added the water and let it sit…
Aug. 5 - tested the water parameters, no water conditioner, I didn’t put anything in it. pH 7.6, ammonia 1.0, nitrite and nitrate 0 of course. I started the filter.
Aug. 6 - did not test the water, just left it alone, no water conditioner
Aug. 7 - started Seachum Stability (following directions on the back of the bottle) 5.5 capfuls
Aug. 8 and 9th - added in 2.5 capfuls of Stability along with a couple of pinches of fish food. Water parameters for both days: ammonia 1.0 nitrites and nitrates 0
Aug. 10 - day 4 2.5 capful of stability plus fish food, ammonia 1.0, nitrites .25, nitrates 0
Aug. 11 day 5 2.5 capfuls plus fish food
Ammonia 2.0, nitrites .25, nitrates 0
Aug. 12 day 6 2.5 capful of Dtability plus fish food
Ammonia 2.0, nitrites 2.0 nitrates 10
Aug 13 day 7 the last day of Stability 2.5 capful and fish food
Ammonia 1.0, nitrites 2.0, and nitrates 20
Aug 14 did not test…. Added fish food
Aug 15 fish food
Ammonia .25, nitrites 2.0 and nitrates 40
Aug 16 ammonia 0, nitrites 2.0 and nitrates 40