Cycling problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

stan22

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi i have being doing a fishless cycle recently.

I have a big problem here my ammonia is at 5ppm but my nitrites and nitrates are both falling. My nitrites are at 1ppm and nitrates are barley 5ppm a couple of days ago they both were way higher please help have no clue whats going on.

Thanks
Stan

I'm no expert when it comes to fishless cycling, but when my ammonia wouldn't fall and all other values were, I checked the chemistry in my tap water and found out it had an ammonia level. Once I started filtering my water and removing the ammonia before putting it in the tank, everything finally zeroed out.

I tested my water and there is 0.1 ppm of ammonia in my tap water don't know if that is enough to affect it

Stan

Hi Stan, My levels were closer to .25ppm. My guess is that if you continue to put water in the tank that contains ammonia, it will never clear out completely. I think that any level of ammonia is not good for fish health. I'd certainly welcome other thoughts. I fortunately had recently purchased a gravity fed water filtration system for my drinking water. It uses ceramic filters and filters out ammonia, chlorine, nitrAtres, nitrItes, etc....
Karen.

i don't know much either but from what i've read you'd be best off doing a big water change 60-80%.. what are you using as an ammonia source? are you using a water ager?

Hi i have being doing a fishless cycle recently.

I have a big problem here my ammonia is at 5ppm but my nitrites and nitrates are both falling. My nitrites are at 1ppm and nitrates are barley 5ppm a couple of days ago they both were way higher please help have no clue whats going on.

Thanks
Stan